New IT forum
26 June 2022, 04:48:35 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: u-boot environment variables - Factory Settings  (Read 10736 times)

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
u-boot environment variables - Factory Settings
« on: 20 April 2011, 11:00:09 am »

Marvell>> printenv

bootcmd=setenv ethact egiga0; ${x_bootcmd_ethernet}; setenv ethact egiga1; ${x_bootcmd_ethernet}; ${x_bootcmd_usb}; ${x_bootcmd_kernel}; setenv bootargs ${x_bootargs} ${x_bootargs_root}; bootm 0x6400000;
bootdelay=3
baudrate=115200
x_bootcmd_ethernet=ping 192.168.2.1
x_bootcmd_usb=usb start
x_bootcmd_kernel=fatload usb 0 0x6400000 uImage
x_bootargs=console=ttyS0,115200
x_bootargs_root=root=/dev/sda2 rootdelay=10
ethact=egiga0
ethaddr=F0:AD:4E:00:7E:xx
eth1addr=F0:AD:4E:00:7E:xx
stdin=serial
stdout=serial
stderr=serial

Environment size: 524/4092 bytes
Logged
NewITJames

kemrit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: u-boot environment variables - Factory Settings
« Reply #1 on: 09 August 2011, 07:43:32 pm »

Hi James,

i set the environment variables for uboot as described for multiboot.

After that ethernet didn't work anymore - might it be related to that?

I tried to reset the variables to the factory settings in order to evaluate that. Unfortunately i am running into the 16 argument issue...

Could you provide also the commands for setting the factory u boot settings?

Kind regards

kemrit
Logged

Confusticated

  • New IT customer
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 663
Re: u-boot environment variables - Factory Settings
« Reply #2 on: 09 August 2011, 08:23:41 pm »

Check you correctly set 'ethaddr' and 'eth1addr' to the unique and valid values that your plug was dispatched with.
If they are not set, ethernet will not work.
Logged
Advocatus Diaboli - My agenda is not to give you the answer, but to guide your thoughts so you derive it for yourself!

kemrit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: u-boot environment variables - Factory Settings
« Reply #3 on: 09 August 2011, 08:33:30 pm »

Hi Confusticated,

thanks for fast reply. Being still a linux newbie: - i corrupted the /etc/network/interfaces with vi (blank line).

Sorry for bothering you...

Many thanks

kemrit

@James: Nevertheless... commands for factory uboot settings would still be nice
Logged
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!