New IT forum
10 August 2022, 10:56:45 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Bricked ...  (Read 8570 times)

elyobelyob

• New IT customer
Bricked ...
« on: 29 April 2011, 09:39:07 am »

OK, so I've no experience of sheeva etc before, so will be a bit of a learn for me. However, I do build webservers fairly regularly.

I tried to upgrade ubuntu to a more recent version and this failed somewhere. It said it was returning to original state. Now the dreamplug turns on, but halts somewhere. I only have a green light and no bluetooth light. Also unable to SSH in. Perhaps SSH was disabled during this process? The lights seem to point to something else.

Just wondering what the best method of fixing this would be. I don't have a jtag module at the moment (although, guess this may be a suggestion - and if so, what do you do with a jtag?).

Should I be looking at plugging in direct via USB from another ubuntu machine? Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Only thing I gleamed from this was that upgrading to 10.10 didn't work for me :)

update : am having a read of this, and it seems to be what I need to do ... http://www.newit.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,1977.0.html
« Last Edit: 29 April 2011, 10:11:49 am by elyobelyob »

NewIT_Marcus

Re: Bricked ...
« Reply #1 on: 29 April 2011, 11:52:18 am »

• You cannot and should not even try to upgrade to a more recent Ubuntu version; 9.05 is the most recent to support the ARM processor.
  • You can connect via USB to the serial port on the Dreamplug only if you have a JTAG unit
  • The entire O/S is contained on a removable micro-SD card that can easily be removed and rewritten. If you messed up your file systems so that it cannot boot, and if you don't have a JTAG, then this is your only option ... and it's not difficult, so long as you can read and write the micro-SD card in another PC.

elyobelyob

• New IT customer