New IT forum
13 August 2022, 12:29:24 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: PiHub now in stock.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Backing up nand system  (Read 27312 times)

truehl

Backing up nand system
« on: 20 December 2009, 01:54:05 pm »

Hi,
first of all I want to thank the people from newIT. Very good support an very friendly, tanks.

And now to my questions:
1. How can I make a backup of the system from the nand (UBIFS) to a sd-card?
2. I want the System to boot from the SD-card by default. Only if there is no card inserted, than the system shall boot from the nand. As systems I want to use debian on the SD-card. (I know how to build it)
3. Best the system boots first from sd-card, second from a usb-stick an third form the nand.

I'm no linux expert so it would be nice if you would answer for "dummys".

Thanks a lot,
Greetings, thomas

NewIT_Marcus

Re: Backing up nand system
« Reply #1 on: 20 December 2009, 04:47:31 pm »

Hi,
first of all I want to thank the people from newIT. Very good support an very friendly, tanks.

And now to my questions:
1. How can I make a backup of the system from the nand (UBIFS) to a sd-card?
2. I want the System to boot from the SD-card by default. Only if there is no card inserted, than the system shall boot from the nand. As systems I want to use debian on the SD-card. (I know how to build it)
3. Best the system boots first from sd-card, second from a usb-stick an third form the nand.

I'm no linux expert so it would be nice if you would answer for "dummys".

Thanks a lot,
Greetings, thomas

(1) and (2). See here. The only thing I'm not certain of is whether there are issues of synchronisation between different files, and whether there are any files that may not be copied from an active root filesystem. But I've seen the same command detailed elsewhere, so I'd guess it's a practical method: