New IT forum
12 August 2022, 03:41:59 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: apt-get fails  (Read 15324 times)

netalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
apt-get fails
« on: 11 May 2011, 06:07:46 pm »

Just got a DreamPlug for experimentation, but I have problems with
installing packages with apt-get install.
Does anybody have an idea what the cause is?

A printout sample for apt-get install vsftpd as follows:

[email protected]:~# sudo apt-get install vsftpd
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  libcap1 update-inetd
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libcap1 update-inetd vsftpd
0 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 0 to remove and 35 not upgraded.
Need to get 125kB of archives.
After this operation, 594kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
  libcap1 update-inetd vsftpd
Install these packages without verification [y/N]? y
Err http://ports.ubuntu.com jaunty/main libcap1 1:1.10-14build1
  Could not connect to ports.ubuntu.com:80 (91.189.92.175). - connect (110 Connection timed out)
Err http://ports.ubuntu.com jaunty/main update-inetd 4.31
  Could not connect to ports.ubuntu.com:80 (91.189.92.175). - connect (110 Connection timed out)
Err http://ports.ubuntu.com jaunty/main vsftpd 2.0.7-0ubuntu1
  Could not connect to ports.ubuntu.com:80 (91.189.92.175). - connect (110 Connection timed out)
Failed to fetch http://ports.ubuntu.com/pool/main/libc/libcap/libcap1_1.10-14build1_armel.deb  Could not connect to ports.ubuntu.com:80 (91.189.92.175). - connect (110 Connection timed out)
Failed to fetch http://ports.ubuntu.com/pool/main/u/update-inetd/update-inetd_4.31_all.deb  Could not connect to ports.ubuntu.com:80 (91.189.92.175). - connect (110 Connection timed out)
Failed to fetch http://ports.ubuntu.com/pool/main/v/vsftpd/vsftpd_2.0.7-0ubuntu1_armel.deb  Could not connect to ports.ubuntu.com:80 (91.189.92.175). - connect (110 Connection timed out)
E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?
[email protected]:~#


Pinging ports.ubuntu.com fails also. The IP address is resolved, so I have contact with DNS.

[email protected]:~# ping ports.ubuntu.com
PING ports.ubuntu.com (91.189.92.175) 56(84) bytes of data.
^C
--- ports.ubuntu.com ping statistics ---
6 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 5006ms

[email protected]:~#


Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2011, 06:42:50 pm »

It's obviously a networking issue, not an apt-get problem.

My first guess is that the automatically assigned wireless address is conflicting with something on your network.

So ... which network connection are you expecting the Dreamplug to use (wifi or ethernet), and what are your network settings?

Additionally, what are the settings for what you have in your local network that the Dreamplug will need, ie modem?
Logged

netalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #2 on: 11 May 2011, 07:22:10 pm »

Yes, I do also think it's an networking issue.
I am using eth0 connected to the LAN side of a router.
IP Address is assigned from DHCP server in the router.
The WAN side of the router is connected to internet/my ISP.

I have disabled WLAN by by removing the call to
/root/init_setup.sh from /etc/rc.local as I found in another forum/post.

I have several Windows clients on my lan. I can ping those from the DreamPlug.
Ping works ok from Windows clients to internet.

BR/ netalf
Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #3 on: 11 May 2011, 08:03:01 pm »

So what are your network settings?

Here's a very simple example of setting up a fixed IP address:

http://www.newit.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,45.0.html

Note that your Dreamplug will need to know the gateway through which it can reach external addresses. Right now that seems to be your main symptom; that you can see local addresses but not external addresses.
Logged

netalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #4 on: 14 May 2011, 04:25:29 pm »

It should be possible to use DHCP (dynamic IP address), but now I have
tested with fixed address:

/etc/network/interfaces looks like:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.2.70
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.2.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
gateway 192.168.2.1

#auto eth1
#iface eth1 inet dhcp

I have disabled eth1

Now I can't even ping the gateway (192.168.2.1)

[email protected]:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr f0:ad:4e:00:80:b3 
          inet addr:192.168.2.70  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::f2ad:4eff:fe00:80b3/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:64 (64.0 B)  TX bytes:4609 (4.6 KB)
          Interrupt:11

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2470 (2.4 KB)  TX bytes:2470 (2.4 KB)

Any  suggestions?
Logged

rfrazier

  • New IT customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • RLF
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #5 on: 14 May 2011, 05:10:54 pm »

You say that the IP address is assigned by DHCP on the router.  Yet you assign eth0 a static IP address in your /etc/network file.  Perhaps the router isn't assigning you that address.  Try making eth0 dhcp.

Best wishes,
Bob
Logged

netalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #6 on: 14 May 2011, 08:29:14 pm »

Is there somebody out there that can confirm that networking works on the DreamPlug when it comes out of the box?
or are there others experiencing problems?
Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #7 on: 14 May 2011, 09:07:44 pm »

Is there somebody out there that can confirm that networking works on the DreamPlug when it comes out of the box?

More or less, yes. It will receive a DHCP address and should be able to route outside with the DHCP automatically assigned information. Except that if you have a local device on 192.168.1.1, there may be issues with the wireless device.

or are there others experiencing problems?

I don't see any other reports of the problem you are having. Are you using both physical ports, in case there is confusion about which is eth0 and which is eth1?
Logged

netalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #8 on: 14 May 2011, 10:29:10 pm »

Yes, I am a little confused about which port is which.

I have assigned IP addresses to the ethernet addresses of eth0 and eth1 in my DHCP server so the DreamPlug has dynamic IP.

Now, with eth0 disabled, network cable connected to RJ45#1 (the rightmost) and after restarting the plug, it seems to work. I can ping whatever I want, and apt-get also seems to work.

So then I assume that RJ45#1 is eth1 and RJ45#2 is eth0 ??

Now it's getting late, so I think I deserve a cold beer.
Thank you for comments / suggestions.
Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #9 on: 15 May 2011, 12:03:47 pm »

See here. I don't know if there are circumstances under which ports may change identity, but "normally" I have found the left hand port to be eth0 and the right hand port to be eth1.

Are you saying now that both ports work, when you apply the appropriate settings to either port, or are you saying that only one port is working?
Logged

netalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #10 on: 15 May 2011, 06:57:31 pm »

According to the DreamPlug User Guid page 4 [ http://code.google.com/p/dreamplug/downloads/detail?name=DreamPlug%20User%20Guide_US_v1.1.pdf&can=2&q=]
the righ hand port is denoted RJ45#1 and the left hand RJ45#2.
so I agree, the left hand port is eth0 = RJ45#2 and the right hand port is eth1 = RJ45#1 (little confusing).

Networking is NOT working as it should!!!!

/etc/network/interfaces looks like:

[email protected]:~# cat /etc/network/interfaces                                     
# /usr/share/doc/ifupdown/examples for more information.                       
auto lo                                                                         
iface lo inet loopback                                                         
                                                                               
auto eth0                                                                       
iface eth0 inet dhcp                                                           
                                                                               
#auto eth1                                                                     
#iface eth1 inet dhcp                                                           
[email protected]:~#

With only one of the interfaces enabled (no matter which) it works IF the ethernet cable is connected at power on. If the cable is connected after start-up, it don't work.

Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #11 on: 15 May 2011, 07:34:09 pm »

With only one of the interfaces enabled (no matter which) it works IF the ethernet cable is connected at power on. If the cable is connected after start-up, it don't work.

When connecting after start-up, use:

Code: [Select]
ifup eth0

or

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/network restart
Logged

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: apt-get fails
« Reply #12 on: 15 May 2011, 07:35:46 pm »

Hi netalf,

Just tried that on a fresh Dreamplug.

Power it up with the ethernet plugged in it picks and address and it works.

Plug the ethernet in after it has powered up and it does not find an ethernet address.

That's normal behaviour and the same on the Sheevaplug.

Try
Code: [Select]
dhclient eth0
That should prompt it to get an IP from your dhcp server.

NewitJames
Logged
NewITJames
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!