New IT forum
26 June 2022, 05:27:24 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: GertDuino now in stock.

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Fully encrypted system  (Read 28935 times)

Denoyse

Fully encrypted system
« on: 16 July 2011, 10:01:31 am »

Intention: A fully encrypted up-to-date Debian on a dm-crypt encrypted external SD-Card.

Hi Guys,

i did not find any thread on how to create a fully encrypted system on a DreamPlug, so now wrote my own here. I am not a real pro, but i did what i could. I found a lot of information so this thread is striped down to a "short" howto with links to where you can find further informations. Additionally, parts marked with "Note:" are sideways you might take. My goal was also to keep the original system on the micro SD-Card as is, to have a fallback system or to just bring you system to another device.

You are able to do everything in this thread form within your running default DreamPlug system, so (except for the JTAG parts) it is completely independent from the remote accessing system you use.

Usual warning: Read through all of this thread (maybe twice) before touching you system! And of course everything at you own risk. The writer of this text guarantees for nothing...

You're welcome to post on any mistakes i made, misspelling, shortcuts other users may take or whatever you like to say. I hope this thread can evolve to a simple all-in-one howto/solution for others.

Required hardware

• Dreamplug
  • SD-Card (external slot)
  • JTAG unit

Naming conventions

Internal micro SD-Card: /dev/sda => Its first partition (vfat) /dev/sdb1, its second partition (ext3) /dev/sda2
External SD-Card: /dev/sdb => I will create a similar partition sceme => First partition for /boot is /dev/sdb1, second partition for the encrypted filesystem is /dev/sdb2
This is likely to be the naming on your device, too.