New IT forum
25 June 2022, 11:46:53 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: PiHub now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: auto boot?  (Read 8857 times)

bjojon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
auto boot?
« on: 14 August 2011, 12:59:56 pm »

Is there any way to make the smarttop boot when applying power - without pressing any button?
Why? because I want to use it as a server far away and my arms are not long enough!  ;)
Logged

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #1 on: 14 August 2011, 06:15:25 pm »

Hi bjojon,

You have to press the power button after applying power.

NewITJames
Logged
NewITJames

bjojon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #2 on: 15 August 2011, 05:42:32 am »

 :(
not the answer I wanted!
Almost every computer can be configured to auto-boot, even the nslu2 could be fooled into starting. This is a showstopper for me.
bjojon
Logged

Confusticated

  • New IT customer
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 663
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #3 on: 16 August 2011, 10:16:44 pm »

How are you remotely applying the power ?
Logged
Advocatus Diaboli - My agenda is not to give you the answer, but to guide your thoughts so you derive it for yourself!

bjojon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #4 on: 18 August 2011, 09:20:02 am »

I don't, the company that delivers power to my house does.
I want the computer to run always so I power it up when I am there and expect it to live even if there is a temporary power outage.
In most computers You can configure the hardware to restart when the power returns if the machine was on when power was lost.
It is this behaviour that I want.
Logged

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #5 on: 18 August 2011, 09:28:13 am »

The Sheevaplug and Dreamplug both boot up when the power is applied. Have you considered a small UPS to cover the temporary power outages?
Logged
NewITJames

bjojon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #6 on: 18 August 2011, 10:20:35 am »

So I bought the wrong one!
I already fixed a 12 V battery and charger so I will probably use that.
But in the past I have seen "hanging" computers, the remedy for that has been to switch off power and switch it back on. I have a gsm-controlled switch to do that. I will not be able to use this anymore. So I have to believe that the efika box will run and run and run......
Logged

guidol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • He know where his Towel is :-)
Re: auto boot?
« Reply #7 on: 18 August 2011, 01:33:36 pm »

If, in the future, your Efika is out of warranty you could use a trick like on the Linksys NSLU2.
Here a page with some ideas about that: http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/HowTo/ForcePowerAlwaysOn
Logged
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!