New IT forum
26 June 2022, 05:30:47 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: GertDuino now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: GuiPlug update manager bugs  (Read 6472 times)

Ralph Houston

  • New IT customer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
GuiPlug update manager bugs
« on: 14 September 2011, 09:35:44 pm »

This software has at least three bugs. It reports:
  • a fatal error then runs anyway
  • file sizes as MB when they are really kB (2000MB insead of 2MB)
  • that updates have not installed, when in fact they have

Can something be done please?
Logged

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: GuiPlug update manager bugs
« Reply #1 on: 14 September 2011, 10:22:25 pm »

Ralph,

Are you running the Update Manager from Gnome or using 'apt -get upgrade'?

NewITJames
Logged
NewITJames

Ralph Houston

  • New IT customer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
Re: GuiPlug update manager bugs
« Reply #2 on: 14 September 2011, 10:51:43 pm »

I click on the 'rosette' (top right), so the Gnome route
Logged

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: GuiPlug update manager bugs
« Reply #3 on: 15 September 2011, 08:48:46 am »

Ralph,

Using
 
Code: [Select]
apt-get update
apt-get upgrade

from the root terminal will achieve the same thing. I will have a look at why using the 'rosette' is not working correctly.

NewITJames
Logged
NewITJames

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: GuiPlug update manager bugs
« Reply #4 on: 19 September 2011, 07:43:51 am »

This problem applies to the Sheevaplug version also.

The problem may be being caused by /etc/default/locale being missing but I will investigate further and update this post.

NewITJames
Logged
NewITJames

Ralph Houston

  • New IT customer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
Re: GuiPlug update manager bugs
« Reply #5 on: 27 January 2012, 10:42:21 am »

This problem still applies.
When running update manager in the GUI:
- the updates are reported as each being 1GB, no matter the real size
- you get a message asking if you want to send a bug report which you must confirm
- there is then a 'no updates applied' message, but in fact they have been
This can't be a major fix!
Logged
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!