New IT forum
26 June 2022, 06:09:42 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: RS-485  (Read 10254 times)

Kevin

RS-485
« on: 19 February 2012, 09:33:54 am »

I have a need to connect my DreamPlug to some RS-485 devices.  Has anyone succeeded in doing this?

My plan would be to do it via the UART with an RS-232-to-RS-485 adapter.  Can anyone recommend one?
Or maybe there's a better solution?

Grinch

Re: RS-485
« Reply #1 on: 21 February 2012, 07:21:03 am »

Just my 2cent's, I'm not a expert but from I've see the RS232 port should be only for debugging purpose with the JTAG module, may be you can try with a USB-RS232 converter and then from the serial side of the converter try to emulate the RS485 or more simply use a little external microcontroller like a PIC with the slave USB feature and then use the RS232 port of this microcontroller to implement a true RS485 port by using e.g. a DS75176B driver (http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/ds75176b.pdf), in other word use the external microcontroller to be a USB-RS485 bridge.

I'm not a expert of the DreamPlug, just a noob at this time, may be some other skilled people can suggest a best way to solve your question.

All the best
The Grinch
« Last Edit: 21 February 2012, 08:50:06 am by Grinch »

tBergmueller

« Reply #2 on: 06 April 2012, 06:23:10 pm »

Have you succeeded with RS485? I'm currently developing an RS485 application and I'll use FTDI USB to Serial converter. I think in a week or two I could give more detailed information whether it works or not, currently I'm stuck in getting Mono framework to work on Dreamplug because I've built a pretty large .NET-dll for RS485 communication and I really don't wanna write all these classes again  ;D

~edit~