New IT forum
22 May 2018, 04:23:41 am *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: GertDuino now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Problem with GuiPlug on eSata Sheevaplug  (Read 12089 times)

Starkilla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Problem with GuiPlug on eSata Sheevaplug
« on: 07 March 2012, 11:45:02 am »

Hello,
i just installed GuiPlug on my eSata Sheevaplug and now i have two Problems:

1. Is there a way to change the configuration so that the initial vncserver and the other stuff won't be started with the guiplug user but the root user?

2. A have a strange problem: everything is fine but suddenly after a couple of hours running (only qbittorrent is active) i lose all connections to the plug and can't reach it anymore (vnc and ssh). Can somebody help me to solve that problem?
Logged

NewITMalcolm

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
Re: Problem with GuiPlug on eSata Sheevaplug
« Reply #1 on: 07 March 2012, 12:45:57 pm »


1. you need to modify /etc/init.d/GuiPlugInit
Code: [Select]
   su guiplug  -c "vncserver :1 -name GuiPlug -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16"
change to
Code: [Select]
   su root -c "vncserver :1 -name GuiPlug -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16"

2.  Do the led's change when it loses connection?
     What is reported on the console?
Logged
NewITJames

Starkilla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with GuiPlug on eSata Sheevaplug
« Reply #2 on: 07 March 2012, 12:56:35 pm »

thank you for the help to 1.

to 2. the leds do not change! it seams as if the plug is still working but there is no network traffic anymore. the lights of the lan connection blink less! are you talking about the ssh console or the terminal console? in the ssh console there is no message it only gets disconnected... will look into the terminal console this evening and provide that information asap! this topic sounds a little similar http://www.newit.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,2139.0.html

thank you for your help!
Logged

Starkilla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with GuiPlug on eSata Sheevaplug
« Reply #3 on: 07 March 2012, 09:36:30 pm »

hm ifconfig tells me that there is no ip assigned! in the console there are no anomalities... i have set a static ip now and deinstalled the networking-manager... now i am testing if that did the job!
Logged

Starkilla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with GuiPlug on eSata Sheevaplug
« Reply #4 on: 08 March 2012, 03:23:47 pm »

ok, there is no problem till now... normally the sheevaplug would be down by now. strange! but i can live with a static ip!
Logged
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!