New IT forum
10 August 2022, 11:02:51 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: PiHub now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Apache2 on eSata 'plug?  (Read 6419 times)

apemberton

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Apache2 on eSata 'plug?
« on: 02 April 2010, 02:44:33 pm »

Has anyone set up an Apache2 server on a eSata Sheevaplug where the data pages and other variable stuff is located on the attached Sata drive? The default paths I have point to the mmc card and I want to change that to the disk. I am setting up MRTG so there will be frequent writes and thus I want to avoid writing to flash.

This said, I really ought to check the plugcomputer.org wiki and forum.

Logged
Tony Pemberton

peter a

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
Re: Apache2 on eSata 'plug?
« Reply #1 on: 02 April 2010, 06:50:43 pm »

Hi, I`m fully booting from the Esata drive and I don`t get what you are trying to do !!
Do you want to boot from the SD card, but mount parts of the root to the Esata disk ?
Or just put a web site on the Esata drive and logs etc on the disk ?

MRTG isn`t that the old version of rrd tools , which I use plus I also use Monitorix , which gives me my system graphs
« Last Edit: 02 April 2010, 06:54:43 pm by peter a »
Logged

apemberton

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: Apache2 on eSata 'plug?
« Reply #2 on: 03 April 2010, 08:07:44 am »

"Or just put a web site on the Esata drive and logs etc on the disk ? Yes, thats what I want to do. I am aware that I could change to booting from disk (and in fact a uImage happens to be on a partition there) but I don't want to do that.

Anyway, since I posted my original message, I have got Apache2 operating with data and logs on disk just as I want. Webmin also helps me as a doubling up for command line configuration.

MRTG is fine for me as I am familiar with its use and operation even if it is a bit long in the tooth! I first came across it in 2000/2001. Still evolving in 2010 as is net-snmp.
Logged
Tony Pemberton

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: Apache2 on eSata 'plug?
« Reply #3 on: 06 April 2010, 07:22:47 am »

It sounds like you found the configuration files in /etc/apache2. It's by no means straightforward, but that's where all the magic happens.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!