New IT forum
10 August 2022, 11:39:04 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.
 
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: GuruPlug as a wireless router  (Read 14986 times)

baobao000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
GuruPlug as a wireless router
« on: 29 May 2010, 12:55:39 pm »

I am going to modify the wireless AP according to
http://plugcomputer.org/plugwiki/index.php/Setting_GuruPlug_to_be_a_WiFi_Access_Point

But stop at the first step:
when enter
guruplug-debian:~# modprobe uap8xxx
I get:
FATAL: Module uap8xxx not found.
I dont know what happened.
Any hint is welcomed.
Logged

pietsnot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #1 on: 29 May 2010, 05:56:19 pm »

at first, check, enter:

lsmod

this should give something like:
uap8xxx                44492  1
(the module should be there already)

else enter this:

insmod /root/uap8xxx.ko

this works for me, just take a look at file:
/root/init_setup.sh
« Last Edit: 29 May 2010, 06:15:38 pm by pietsnot »
Logged
[unbricked]2xguruplug-server+[2xjtag->nslu2];debian squeeze;[4|8]gb mmc:rootFS+swapFS;sata-hd 2tb;; Linux-kernel-2.6.35.11;U-Boot_2010.03-01266-g42f7128; iptables:FW+router+gw;sshd;sabnzbd;rTorrent;nfs[d];autofs;xorg;icewm;iceweasel;xrdp;privoxy+tor;apache;smbd;mediatomb;[pch-a110]

kqoafu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #2 on: 29 May 2010, 06:54:28 pm »

I had the same problem. I commented out the WLAN configuration in /root/init_setup.sh (lines 6-12) and rebooted to make sure the module wasn't loaded. After the reboot I run
cp /root/uap8xxx.ko /lib/modules/2.6.32-00007-g56678ec/kernel/net/
depmod -a

and modprobe started working.

I followed these instructions: http://oinkzwurgl.org/guruplug_debian. I think that's a more debian way to configure the AP.
Logged

baobao000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #3 on: 30 May 2010, 12:27:13 pm »

   According to your advice, I finally get a wireless network with WPA2.
   Doing as http://oinkzwurgl.org/guruplug_debian
   If I enable only the wireless AP, I can login to the GPS+ box.
   If I set, e,g, eth1 to be 192.168.1. 10, and wireless AP to be 192.168.1.1,
 then , I can not connect to the wireless AP.
   I also did this according to http://plugcomputer.org/plugwiki/index.php/Setting_GuruPlug_to_be_a_WiFi_Access_Point
the result is the same.
   That is: if only enable wireless, I can login to GPS+ box. if I enable eth, I can not login to GPS+ box.
   Any advice more?
Logged

kqoafu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #4 on: 30 May 2010, 01:37:54 pm »

Assuming you used netmask 255.255.255.0, 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.1 are in the same network, which probably causes a conflict. The quickest way to get things working is to change one of the IPs into a different network, e.g., eth1 to be 192.168.2.1.

If you want both eth1 and the wireless to be in the same network you'll need to configure a network bridge. I haven't tried this with GuruPlug, but it should be possible using bridge-utils (aptitude install bridge-utils and configure /etc/network/interfaces).
Logged

baobao000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #5 on: 31 May 2010, 01:20:31 am »

I used a different network for wired and wireless respectively, and get to login to GPS+ box in the two cases.
In addition, I finally couldn't enable "modprobe uap8xxx", instead of it, I used " insmod /root/uap8xxx.ko".
Thank you very much!
Logged

kukodajanos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #6 on: 05 October 2010, 09:24:09 am »

Hi!

I tryed this modprobe uap8xxx, but cause a missunderstand i deleted the file uap8xxx.ko, how can i get it back? Can i download it form somewhere?

Thanks
Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #7 on: 05 October 2010, 05:06:20 pm »

Hi!

I tryed this modprobe uap8xxx, but cause a missunderstand i deleted the file uap8xxx.ko, how can i get it back? Can i download it form somewhere?

Thanks

We have sent it to you via e-mail.
Logged

Acid_Jack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #8 on: 23 February 2011, 09:27:34 am »

Hi!

I tryed this modprobe uap8xxx, but cause a missunderstand i deleted the file uap8xxx.ko, how can i get it back? Can i download it form somewhere?

Thanks

We have sent it to you via e-mail.

Can you also send this file to me?
I also accidently deleted that module :(
Logged

NewIT_Marcus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #9 on: 23 February 2011, 05:30:15 pm »

Can you also send this file to me?
I also accidently deleted that module :(

Sent to the e-mail address you used when registering on this forum.
Logged

Choosit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router and the user limit
« Reply #10 on: 13 April 2011, 08:51:37 am »

Hi

i think is it not possible to have more than 8 wifi client with this module : uap8xxx.ko
How to do more than 8 users ?
thanks for your help.
Logged

mephisto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #11 on: 18 April 2011, 02:12:50 pm »

Same problem, the AP is limited to the first 8 Wifi clients.
When changing max station number :
uaputl bss_stop
uaputl sys_cfg_max_sta_num 30
uaputl bss_start

it return an error :
ERR:STA_NUM must be in the range of [0:8] 30.
Usage : sys_cfg_max_sta_num [STA_NUM]
If STA_NUM is provided, a 'set' is performed, else a 'get' is performed.
STA_NUM should not bigger than 8.

Then, I downloaded and modified the uaputl utility (http://plugcomputer.org/plugwiki/images/a/ad/Uaputl.tar.gz) :
uaputl.c
case MAXSTANUM:
        if (argc != 1) {
            printf("ERR:Incorrect number of arguments for MAXSTANUM\n");
            ret = UAP_FAILURE;
        } else {
            if ((ISDIGIT(argv[0]) == 0) || (atoi(argv[0]) > 30) ||
                (atoi(argv[0]) < 0)) {
                printf("ERR:STA_NUM must be in the range of [0:30] %s.\n",
                       argv[0]);
                ret = UAP_FAILURE;
            }
        }
        break;
uapcmd.c
void print_sys_cfg_max_sta_num_usage(void)
{
    printf("\nUsage : sys_cfg_max_sta_num [STA_NUM]\n");
    printf("\nIf STA_NUM is provided, a 'set' is performed, else a 'get' is performed.");
    printf("\nSTA_NUM should not bigger than 30.\n");
    return;
}
But, this did not work ..
It seems to be limited by the driver itself...

Is there a reason for this restriction ?
Do you have any solution to allow more than 8 Wifi stations ?

GuruPlug & driver info
# modinfo /lib/modules/2.6.33.2-00003-g4b82fc0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/libertas_uap/uap8xxx.ko
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.33.2-00003-g4b82fc0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/libertas_uap/uap8xxx.ko
license:        GPL
version:        26146
author:         Marvell International Ltd.
description:    M-UAP Driver
srcversion:     A1CB6539A717ACCA9F3C0E8
alias:          sdio:c*v02DFd9104*
depends:
vermagic:       2.6.33.2-00003-g4b82fc0 preempt mod_unload ARMv5
parm:           helper_name:Helper name (charp)
parm:           fw_name:Firmware name (charp)

Thanks for replies
« Last Edit: 18 April 2011, 02:41:56 pm by mephisto »
Logged

mandm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #12 on: 16 November 2011, 08:09:44 pm »

Can you also send this file to me?
I also accidently deleted that module :(

Sent to the e-mail address you used when registering on this forum.


Can u please send me the uap8xxx.ko file too i deleted it by mistake?
Logged

Confusticated

  • New IT customer
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 663
Re: GuruPlug as a wireless router
« Reply #13 on: 24 November 2011, 02:00:21 pm »

Quote
Is there a reason for this restriction ?
Do you have any solution to allow more than 8 Wifi stations ?
This restriction appears to be enforced by the firmware itself (sd8688_ap.bin), and may be the result of limitation of available resources (RAM),
it is unlikely there is any way to support more.

This restriction may also be the reason why Marvell refer to it as an 'uAP' (Micro-Access Point).
Logged
Advocatus Diaboli - My agenda is not to give you the answer, but to guide your thoughts so you derive it for yourself!
Pages: [1]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!