New IT forum
12 August 2022, 02:33:25 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: GertDuino now in stock.
 
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread  (Read 22371 times)

trampjuice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« on: 07 June 2010, 06:31:04 pm »

All I hear about are overheating melting Guruplugs, toasted USB devices and USB ports, gigabyte ethernet faults etc...

This thread is for people to post how great thier Guruplug is going for them.
Can you answer:-
1. Guruplug or Guruplug Plus?
1. How long is the uptime and roughly what sort of load are the plugs under? (You can use the UPTIME and TOP command to find the uptime and CPU load)
2. What country/voltage/frequency?
3. What sort of USB devices are you using?  
4. What sort of Ethernet 100Mb or 1Gb?
5. Are you using Wifi okay?
7. [Plus owners] MicroSD slot?

Please post! There must be some working ones out there!
« Last Edit: 08 June 2010, 03:12:28 pm by trampjuice »
Logged

sfzhi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #1 on: 07 June 2010, 06:53:55 pm »

8. Did you try to do something with Bluetooth? If yes, what exactly?
9. [Plus owners] eSATA?
Logged

Czayen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #2 on: 08 June 2010, 07:45:23 am »

Any one?
Now, this is scary...   :-\
Logged

Goodstone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #3 on: 08 June 2010, 07:55:36 am »

Well, this post is just a few hours old.

I do not know if I am the right person to post here but anyway my Guruplug is working okay, but I have not stress tested it for a long period.

I have not had it powered up for many hours, it still gets hotter than what I feel is acceptable.
The temperature on the USB connectors increases by 30 degrees with my setup

My configuration is:
1. Guruplug plus
2. Uptime max 10 hours at a time, load around 10%
3. Country Denmark, 220V 50 Hz
4. USB device, have played with both USB flash memory and briefly with external 3.5 harddrive (externally powered)
5. 100 MBit ethernet
6. Wifi disabled
7. Have not tried the MicroSD slot
8. Bluetooth untested, I have no need for this.
9. SATA - will use eventually
Logged

sanborn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #4 on: 08 June 2010, 08:04:36 am »

1. Guruplug server plus
2. Uptime 10days, load don't know where to find the amout.
    Running squeezeboxserver, mailserver, Gallery, FTP server (no big amount
    of load) fileserver and a couple of boards.
3. Denmark 220v 50hz
4. HDD 500mb 3,5 external psu
5. As recall it was 1gb last time I looked
6. Not using WIFI but hasn't disabled it nor is the BT
7. 8gb Micro SD used for /var and the /tmp catalog

Next projekt to move the HDD from USB to eSATA port
« Last Edit: 08 June 2010, 08:50:58 am by sanborn »
Logged

ManfredK2

  • New IT customer
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #5 on: 08 June 2010, 08:44:29 am »

1. Guruplug Plus
1. 10 Days - running Squeezeboxserver, load is only 3 percent
2. Germany, 230 V 50 Hz
3. 1 TB WD 3,5 HD external psu
4. 100 Mb
5. Wifi and bluetooth disabled
7. 4 GB Micro SD Class 4 - boot from SD
Logged

darek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #6 on: 08 June 2010, 09:06:13 am »

1. Guruplug Standard
2. 4 days 1 hour 7 minutes, load about 5-10%
3. Poland, 230V 50Hz
4. HDD Seagate 1TB USB 2.0, Creative Notebook Pro Camera
5.  100Mb  (GP reseting on 1Gb)
6. Wifi off
7. n/a
Logged

Dom_Mason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #7 on: 08 June 2010, 10:27:05 am »

1. Guruplug Server Plus
2. Have left it running for several days, but it's used for development, so gets re-booted fairly regularly. It's been run at very high loads whilst compiling ffmpeg, and simultaneously rebuilding cpan. It didn't brick out, just kept chugging away.
3. UK 240v
4. Western Digital Passport external USB drive, and Z-Star Microelectronics Webcam
5. It has a 2x1Gb ethernet, but both are connected to 100Mb switches.
6. Haven't looked at wifi
7. Briefly looked at the MicroSD slot, but it was slow - but that may have been the SD card I was using.
8. Have turned bluetooth off
9. Just about to try connecting an eSATA drive ;-)

I've been using this for development, building kernels, using cpan to install perl stuff, building things like ffmpeg from source, and capturing video / jpegs from the camera and saving onto the USB drive, which is also where all the source code for the kernels and other development code is.

It's running Lenny, but now with a new kernel - 2.6.33.2-dirty - as I needed extra modules for the camera.

It's been bricked about 4 times, whilst trying various different uboots. The Server Plus model seems to need the uboot.plug2.bin as it's uboot image.

The JTAG works fine, using a linux Lenny server as my connection for that, running minicom to connect with absolutely no problem, same settings as the Sheevaplug


Anyway, off to play with eSATA now
Logged

harisdmac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #8 on: 08 June 2010, 01:17:04 pm »

1. Guruplug Server Standard
2. Uptime: 5 days at normal load, mostly installing new packages and hosting some php scripts + some java code running
3. EU 240v
4. Some external usb drives used. I have also connected an Arduino controller and made it work nicely :D
5. 1Gb ethernet connected to my adsl modem.
6. WiFi always on at client mode
7. -
8. Have turned bluetooth off
9. -

I am very satisfied so far with my Guruplug. Does get warm, but reasonably warm, i.e. the same my router does. So far, no h/w - s/w issues for me :)
Logged

marsian_ambassador

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #9 on: 13 June 2010, 08:51:21 am »

Hello everybody,

I'd like to tell you guys how great my Guruplug works  ;)

1.   Guruplug Plus
2.   uptime 3 days, load average: 0.18, 0.26, 0.20
3.   Germany 220V 50 Hz
4.   No USB devices
5.   Eth0 1000, ETH1 100
6.   No WiFi, no Bluetooth (both disabled)
7.   Yes, /boot and / on MicroSD
8.   Nothing and not planned
9.   eSata for a HDD to store mysql table files on in the future
10. Debian sid

I am using my Guruplug as a Snort bridge right between my router and main ethernet switch. My goal is to observe every suspicious traffic that made it through the router or is sent by my own machines to the outside world. Logging takes place on a separate machine and my guruplug is only used to run snort. Although snort is highly CPU intensive, it's possible to get the maximum WAN bandwidth of 32 MBit/s through it. However, I have to admit that it's not fully tweaked yet and reducing the amount of rules helped to improve throughput. A lot of people complain about snort's large memory footprint, but that seems not to be an issue with default settings.

Cheers,
Peter
Logged

trampjuice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #10 on: 13 June 2010, 09:11:30 pm »

It is fasinating to find out what people are using these units for. I hadn't even head of snort but I will be looking into it now.
One thing I planned to do was to buy a Easycap DC-60 Video converter for a few euros from ebay,  use it to hook up 4 cctv (CCD 420TVL) video cameras with this sourceforge diver. http://sourceforge.net/projects/easycapdc60/ writing to SD card and network email ftp etc.. over wifi with http://www.zoneminder.com/.

« Last Edit: 13 June 2010, 09:14:45 pm by trampjuice »
Logged

mola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #11 on: 19 June 2010, 10:31:20 pm »

Hi,

Just to say that I'm getting happier:

1. Guruplug Plus
2. Solidly working for more than a week now. Load in the last 4 hrs was 100% - 1.14 (1 min) 1.07 (5 mins) 1.07 (15 mins), have also seen 2.07 (1 min) 1.99 (5 mins) 1.83 (15 mins) - just does a dump backup with gzip/tar (not the best idea with that CPU but good for burn-in testing)
3. Germany 230V 50 Hz
4. USB HDD, hub, serial converter (planned: 1-wire controller)  
5. Ethernet: 1Gbit/s
6. I don't use Wifi
8. MicroSD slot currently unused
8. I don't use Bluetooth
9. eSATA works well. 3Gbps link. When used as a NAS, I can read/write about 35MByte/s using nfs-kernel-server (works as of Debian Squeeze)
10. Operating system    Debian Linux 6.0
11. Kernel and CPU    Linux 2.6.33.2-00003-g4b82fc0 on armv5tel

All the above works well - but I have cooled the Guruplug Plus passively (copper sheet plus alu heatsink outside the plug. Mine would not work this way without cooling. It still get's 55°C inside in case of 100% load over multiple hours. I guess the new daughter board / modified power management chip will help a great deal under normal use and hope that the temp problems will be gone.
I'm confident though
« Last Edit: 19 June 2010, 10:35:40 pm by mola »
Logged

midtskogen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #12 on: 22 June 2010, 09:14:19 am »

Sorry to potentionally ruin this thread, but I'm curious if the success stories here still are successes, that is, still no crashes, lockups, oopses in the syslog, etc.?
Logged

mola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #13 on: 22 June 2010, 10:33:32 am »

Sorry to potentionally ruin this thread, but I'm curious if the success stories here still are successes, that is, still no crashes, lockups, oopses in the syslog, etc.?

... well I had crashes as mentioned. But it's stabile now. Just ssh'd it from the office and did an rsync via GBit, NFS4 to an eSATA drive. I've previously copied more than 700GB this way, just now it was a smaller rsync though that just took about 12mins - but I did not reboot or anything to do this and all mounts are there since I last rebooted a day or so ago (due to reconfig - still testing).

This is what I just saw (during the rsync):

Operating system    Debian Linux 6.0
Webmin version    1.510
Time on system    Tue Jun 22 12:08:23 2010
Kernel and CPU    Linux 2.6.33.2-00003-g4b82fc0 on armv5tel
Processor information    , 1 cores
System uptime    23 hours, 28 minutes
Running processes    82
CPU load averages    1.98 (1 min) 1.84 (5 mins) 1.08 (15 mins)
CPU usage    39% user, 61% kernel, 0% IO, 0% idle
Real memory    501.90 MB total, 52.67 MB used

Works. But with passive cooling (small though) and without WiFi/BT (related modules unloaded).

I've also compiled owserver/owfs and that works also with a serial controller but through a PL2303 bridge because the GPP RS232 apparently only does 3.3V. Works in principle but I don't have that productive yet because rrdtool refuses to read my old .rrd datafiles cause they were produced on another architecture (true - but I'd like to import them... - right, just found out that I'll have to rrdtool dump / restore them). Rrdtool by itself works as well, e.g. for the below Load curve that I have since yesterday (picture shows the rsync I've just done).

Best
Georg

« Last Edit: 22 June 2010, 02:35:47 pm by mola »
Logged

Cloaked Alien

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: My guruplug has no problems and is working fine thread
« Reply #14 on: 22 June 2010, 11:56:04 am »

Guruplug Plus
1. It's been running 24/7 since I got it 28th of May. Rarely any CPU load at all (it only rsyncs with my server every 6th hour for additional backup storage)
2. Sweden 230v/50hz
3. 1TB Seagate USB-drive
4. 100mb connected directly to a WRT54GL
5. Wifi and bluetooth disabled
7. Currently not using MicroSD

I will probably be increasing the number of tasks this unit handles.

Temperature right now is okay, stability is 100%, we'll see how it goes when the load goes up.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!