New IT forum
27 June 2022, 12:36:22 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Help! Whats the best way to get a new image on the internal SD without JTAG?  (Read 3286 times)

pysche

Hi, newbie here, I bought one of these off ebay with no instructions, Model: 003-DS2001 / 0801 0101A the wifi worked at first to SSH in to it, but it had an old image on there, (Linux sheevaplug-debian 2.6.33.6 #1 PREEMPT Tue Feb 8 03:18:41 EST 2011 armv5tel GNU/Linux) thus creating some headaches...

First issue was the nameserver was wrong so I used googles instead as below which fixed that!

Changed /etc/resolv.conf to:

Code: [Select]
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4

Next issue was it was impossible to try using the below commands and update the o/s as the sources.list was wrong so changed them to below which also fixed that issue!

apt-get update
 apt-get dist-upgrade
 apt-get autoremove
 apt-get autoclean

Changed to  /etc/apt/sources.list to:

deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main non-free contrib
deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ squeeze-updates main non-free contrib
deb http://security.debian.org/ squeeze/updates main non-free contrib

And basically updated it from lenny to squeeze using apt-get dist-upgrade and apt-get upgrade after the above which was fine until I removed a package gnupg? which I was told it was something that autostarts the Ethernet etc thinking it would fix a problem with the router its plugged into which now because of removing that one package it dosent start the wifi in the dreamplug so cannot longer ssh into it..