New IT forum
12 August 2022, 04:10:24 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: CubieBoard 2 and Cubietruck both now in stock.
 
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Can't reach Plug over Router  (Read 17132 times)

Confusticated

  • New IT customer
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 663
Re: Can't reach Plug over Router
« Reply #15 on: 29 October 2010, 09:22:34 pm »

Check your log to see if the time it drops off the network coincides with the time the DHCP lease expires.
OR
Configure the plug with a fixed IP and see if the problem goes away.
Logged
Advocatus Diaboli - My agenda is not to give you the answer, but to guide your thoughts so you derive it for yourself!

Tobi_2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Can't reach Plug over Router
« Reply #16 on: 30 October 2010, 07:24:23 am »

My router's settings for the plug are already the following:

"Always use the same IP address:   Yes
DHCP Lease Time:   Infinite".

I also never had this problem with any other (Linux-) PC I have on the network and from time to time I had them running for a few days in a row.
« Last Edit: 30 October 2010, 10:55:02 am by Tobi_2006 »
Logged

Confusticated

  • New IT customer
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 663
Re: Can't reach Plug over Router
« Reply #17 on: 30 October 2010, 08:57:51 pm »

The objective is to prove the fault is with the plug, not to cure it.
Logged
Advocatus Diaboli - My agenda is not to give you the answer, but to guide your thoughts so you derive it for yourself!

Tobi_2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Can't reach Plug over Router
« Reply #18 on: 31 October 2010, 10:01:18 am »

I thought that's what I did - the same problem does not occur with my other computers on the same network with the same router settings and more or less identical programmes. The internal IP address for the plug stays the same and the DHCP settings are set to infinite lease time.

I had a closer look at the plugs network behaviour, and it looks like there is no apparent pattern. The network is sometimes up for 6 or more hours, sometimes only for around an hour. I don't think it's related to the time of the day either, it appears to be random.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!