New IT forum
12 August 2022, 02:12:50 pm *
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

: PiHub now in stock.

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Fixing mount point via JTAG!?  (Read 6097 times)

CageHunter

Fixing mount point via JTAG!?
« on: 15 December 2010, 08:17:01 am »

Hello everyone!

My target was to increase the Plug's space.
Therefore I copied the contents of /etc, /usr and /var to an USB-Drive, each on another partition
After that I removed the original folders from the plug and mounted the partitions at their position.
At last I modified the sftab to make my mountings persistent.

Before anyone begins to laugh : Yes, I'm a Linux noob -.-

My Problem is now, of course the plug cannot boot anymore, because it cannot find the fstab
(it's on the external drive -.-)
Now I was looking in the JTAG's options whether I could just copy the fstab to its old place from usb
or at least create a new one. The best solution would be setting the mounting points directly within
the "x_bootargs_root" or similar, but I didn't find anything about a similar problem in the net.

I can't even find a documentation to the JTAG's commands :(

Hopefully, there's someone who can help me.
Thanks a lot for reading my bad English :)

NewIT_Marcus

Re: Fixing mount point via JTAG!?
« Reply #1 on: 15 December 2010, 08:44:13 am »

The U-Boot environment variables can be used to specify the location of the rootfs. See http://www.newit.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,400.0.html for the default settings.

Currently I don't believe anyone is booting a Guruplug entirely from an external device, although it is possible to boot from a kernel in NAND, with a rootfs on an external device.

CageHunter

« Reply #2 on: 15 December 2010, 08:51:27 am »

Thanks a lot for your reply :)

Yes, I guess that's the problem I have :
The root is still on the plug, but the /etc folder where the fstab is located is now only on my usb-drive.